Challenge Accepted

I love a good challenge.

I was on spring break last week, so I spent it with my family outside of Philadelphia.  I was talking to my mom about the vacation we’re going on at the end of July, and we’re both not feeling the whole bathing suit thing (kind of problem when we’re going to be on a beach for a week).  So we both decided that we would try to lose 30lbs by the time we get on the plane.  Loser has to buy the winner a round at the bar (this is a new rule I just made up. @Mom, can we add this to make it more interesting?).

Tomorrow I’ll post my measurements and weight, and every other week I’ll update those.  I won’t be going totally by the numbers, but it’ll help to keep track.  I have from March 29 to July 23 to lose ((around)) 30lbs. 117 days.  I definitely think I’ll be able to do that! I just have to up my exercise.  The food thing is much more under control since starting the gluten free thing, but the exercise still has a long way to go.

horizontal running

I am Fat Amy always.

With that fun thing in mind, I had a TON of fun planning my food for the week.  I prepped three different things today that I can use over and over, so my meals will be a bit repetitive but SO YUMMY. This week I looked for recipes that were pretty easy and didn’t have a million ingredients, and I found this BuzzFeed article that I plan on using again!! From the article, I made some Smashed Avocado and Chickpea Salad which is AMAZING.  The recipe calls for dried cranberries to be added, but I’m not a huge fan of cranberries (also I couldn’t find them) so I added red onion instead.  I need to pick up some gluten free bread, but I’m so excited to have this sandwich this week! Tomorrow I’ll be making the Italian Chicken skillet meal.  I’m cutting the portions in half, so it’ll only be two chicken breasts instead of four. I’m really excited to try this one – it seems like a good one to make a ton of at once!

I also made Turkey Meatballs to have in pasta this week (this one I found on Pinterest, not BuzzFeed). The recipe I found is absolutely incredible and so easy.  They’re definitely the best turkey meatballs I’ve ever had! I think I used a touch too much parsley, but once they get mixed in with the pasta and sauce it shouldn’t bee too noticeable.  I had never thought to use oats in meatballs, but it seems like a much better alternative to using bread crumbs. I unfortunately didn’t have gluten free oats, but I’ll be sure to use those next time I make this.  The finished result tasted so good (and they look pretty great too!).

A photo posted by Michelle Corr (@pcosandpizza) on Mar 28, 2016 at 2:36pm PDT

 

ice cream crying

I just want ice cream.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to make healthier snacks for myself, something to add when I get hungry in the middle of work. I normally have clementines, or carrots and hummus, or gluten free pretzels with peanut butter, but I’m a little tired of just having the same things. So I tried to make some roasted chickpeas with spicy seasoning that I found (it’s called Todd’s Dirt. I used the Bayou Dirt but I also love the Crabby Dirt) and a little olive oil. I was stoked about my new little snack and pulled the tray out of the oven as soon as the time went off – and they were all burned. Every. Single. One of them.  I followed all the instructions, but I guess I need to keep them in the oven for less time. Or lower the temperature.  I’ll try again tomorrow – hopefully they won’t burn this time. Was the healthy snack burning a sign that I should just eat fries and ice cream all the time? Should I listen to the signs from the universe? Who knows.

If you want to try anything that I made, you can find all the recipes here! Also, be sure to follow me on Instagram! I’m going to try to post more on there, like what I’m eating, my workouts, and fun/inspirational memes I find!

 

One thought on “Challenge Accepted

Leave a Reply

