Mac and Cheese

So I haven’t posted in a while. I’ve been insanely busy with school and with a musical that I was involved with. And I’ve been eating HORRIBLY pretty recently because I haven’t had time to cook.  BUT I’M BACK. AND TRYING TO EAT HEALTHY AGAIN. AND BLOGGING.

late night dancing

***Eminem’s Without Me plays faintly in the background***

As I said, I haven’t been eating great. Lots of gluten (aka pizza and hoagies), lots of cheese, and lots of fried foods without many vegetables. Unless you count onion rings and ketchup as vegetables. In that case I had my daily servings. I honestly haven’t had time to make food or sleep or do any workouts lately which isn’t great. I need to learn to prioritize more. But I’m getting back into my normal routine which is great, but I haven’t had much time to grocery shop so I’m a bit low on food right now.

Last night, I really really really wanted mac and cheese, which comes second on my favorite foods list.  Mac and Cheese, of course, has the two things I’m trying to avoid most – gluten and hella dairy.  I didn’t haven any of the pre-packaged stuff (which is horrible for anyone because #calories but especially me right now), so I decided to make my own. I had some awesome Tinkyáda Rice Pasta and some almond milk, so I added those and a little bit of butter to some shredded cheese I had in the fridge.  I know dairy isn’t great for the PCOS lifestyle, but I do keep shredded cheese to add a little to omelettes. Omelettes just taste better with cheese, ok?

mac and cheese

Literally same.

My mac and cheese turned out pretty great – the almond milk made it a little sweet, and there was the PERFECT amount of cheese so it got all gooey and wonderful.  My only complaint was that it was pretty bland. I added some salt and pepper to flavor it a bit more, but I need to figure out a better way to add a little kick to it. I was thinking next time I’ll try a hint of mustard, or maybe even some hot sauce. Other than that, I think I’ve found a really good alternative to the box mac and cheese. It’s a pretty quick thing to make which is awesome for me, and I can just stock up on gluten free pasta and a bag of shredded cheese rather than buy the processed gross stuff. I’m pretty stoked about this recipe, so I put it below in case anyone wants to try it out!

Michelle’s Mac and Cheese

Screen Shot 2016-03-14 at 6.11.47 PM

1 cup Tinkyáda Rice Pasta Fusilli

1/2 cup Silk Almond Milk (unsweetened vanilla)

1 tbsp. butter

Shredded cheese (I didn’t measure how much I put in, but it depends on how cheesey you like it!)

Cook pasta according to instructions on bag.  Strain pasta and put it back in the pot. Put heat on low and add butter and milk. Stir until butter is totally melted. Gradually add cheese and stir until it completely melts.

One thought on “Mac and Cheese

Leave a Reply

