YAY MEAL PREP!!

Ok, so for this week, I’m going kind of basic, because it’s an INSANELY busy week for me, as I’m going into tech for our schools’ production of Cabaret.  Here’s what I already had going into this week of meals:

  • Six chicken breasts
  • Frozen salmon
  • Frozen tilapia
  • Ground turkey, cooked and seasoned
  • Quinoa
  • Gluten-free rye bread
  • Butternut squash
  • Almond milk

Because I had a TON of protein, I really didn’t buy any more – I just stuck with getting things to add to my proteins. Here’s what I bought today:

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 8.11.02 PM

  • Two dozen eggs
  • Strawberries
  • Bananas
  • Gluten free rotini and spaghetti
  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms
  • Baby Carrots
  • Five lemons
  • Two avocados
  • Hot sauce
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Chickpeas
  • Two cans of diced tomatoes

I also did a little #TreatYoSelf and bought some DELICIOUS prosciutto from Vincent’s Meat Market on Arthur Avenue (right near my apartment). I’m going to either use it in some kind of dinner this week or just snack on it because I love it so much.

I did some prep already, but the bulk of what I’ll be doing will be as I eat it. I made egg salad from one of the cartons, just to have something on-hand when I’m in a rush, and I sautéed the mushrooms to add to various meals.  For the rest of the week, I’m planning on making hummus, cinnamon roasted butternut squash, and salmon with lemon.  I also think I’m going to do a Teriyaki chicken with steamed asparagus and quinoa for dinner at some point – just because those are three of my favorite things.

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 8.12.20 PM

Low key obsessed with prosciutto

I’ll be using the strawberries and bananas mostly for smoothies to bring to work. Because I have to be at work so early in the morning, I make my breakfasts the night before, so smoothies are typically the easiest for me to do.  During the week, I’ll also be doing pasta with diced tomatoes (instead of pre-made sauce) ((thank you Mom for that suggestion)) and some ground turkey for dinner – it’s just easiest and fastest for my crazy week.  I’ll definitely try to pre-prep some fish and chicken too, but because they’re frozen, I’ll be able to keep it for next week if I have to.

For snacks throughout the day, I got baby carrots and avocados, in addition to the gluten free pretzels I already had. I’ll be making the chickpeas into a hummus for the carrots, which I’m stoked about – I’ve never made my own hummus before, and I’ve found a few recipes on Pinterest that I really want to try. Hummus is one of my favorite things, so I feel like if I start to make my own, I’ll save myself a TON of money (and obviously have an awesome skill. But mostly save money. So I can buy more prosciutto).  I’ll be eating the avocados as-is, maybe with a little salt and pepper or red pepper flakes for flavor.

All in all, I’m really excited about all my food for this week!! With my schedule, it’ll be insane to cook a lot, but I’m really going to try hard. All of these foods are solid for women with PCOS – lots of veggies, lean proteins, some fruit, and very low dairy / gluten intake. I’m feeling pretty good about keeping with this new PCOS diet, and it’s not even that hard to buy for!! I thought I was going to struggle a bit to buy foods for this new lifestyle, but it’s almost no different than how I normally shop.

Keep up with how I’m doing via MyFitnessPal, and follow me so we can be a support system for each other! Also, in case you’re interested, I’ll be posting most of my pretty food pictures on my VSCO. If you have VSCO, please follow me! I may also start an Instagram page specifically for this blog….I’ll keep you posted on that one.

XOXO

Michelle

Leave a Reply

