Solo Date Night

Today, I went on a date by myself.

I absolutely love eating at restaurants by myself.  I love being able to just sit there, read my book (I’m currently reading “The Year of Yes” by Shonda Rhimes. Do yourselves a favor and read it), enjoy my meal, and not be bothered by anyone around me.

Now, I’m not saying that I’m bothered when I go out to eat with friends. I love that a lot. But sometimes, it’s just really nice to sit alone and #TreatYoSelf.

(Also, just so you all know, #TreatYoSelf is my life motto. I have a mini-Donna and mini-Tom living in the back of my brain, and they tell me to treat myself. So I listen. Because they’re never wrong).

treat yo self

So while I was waiting to see “Fiddler on the Roof” on Broadway with my Theatre Journalism class, I went to Nanking on Broadway between 50th and 51st.  Disclaimer, I LOVE Chinese and Japanese food.  If you told me I could only eat General Tso’s chicken or sushi for the rest of my life I would be more than content.  But, as I’m trying to stay a bit more conscientious with my eating habits, I thought I’d branch out a bit and try some new foods (gluten free, of course).

Since it was a #TreatYoSelf night, I ordered a cocktail and appetizer with my meal. To drink, I had a Skinny Cucumber martini, which was my first cucumber cocktail experience (note to self – start making fun cocktails).  I had the chicken hot and sour soup for an appetizer, and for dinner, I tried chicken Pad Thai, which had rice noodles, ground peanuts, and some veggies (also, loves me some chicken).  This was only my second time EVER eating Pad Thai, and it’s quickly becoming my new favorite food.

Screen Shot 2016-02-17 at 7.17.09 PM

Nanking’s Hot and Sour soup – DELISH!!!

Eating out with my new lifestyle is kind of strange.  While I was going through the menu, I immediately went to my old favorite foods – wonton soup, dumplings, General Tso’s chicken with white rice, etc etc etc. But then I remembered what I’m trying to do and reevaluated what I was going to put into my body, even though I was eating out and not cooking the food for myself.  AND I stuck to the gluten free thing which was different. A lot of times, I’ll forget about a diet when I go out to eat, and everything spirals from there. But gold star to me for remembering and actually sticking to what I said I was going to do.  I’ll be honest – I’ve never felt better about eating out!! I wasn’t bloated afterwards, I didn’t feel like I needed a ten year nap (#FoodComa), and I really really enjoyed my meal

Tonight kind of made me realize how I need to think about things in order to stay focused so I don’t fall back into what I used to do.  I really want this time of trying to lose weight and be healthier to happen, and especially knowing about my PCOS, I want to make sure that everything I eat is one bite closer to me feeling better inside and out. So, here’s to the first time I didn’t royally screw up eating out, and here’s to many more adventures (hopefully including Asian food) ((and Broadway shows)) (((and fancy cocktails))).

Leave a Reply

