Hey There!

First post on my blog!! Woo-hoo!!

A brief intro – I’m Michelle and I was diagnosed with PCOS in September 2015.  Since then, I’ve been trying to learn the best ways to manage my PCOS with both medication and lifestyle.  This blog will essentially be tracking my eating and fitness habits in hopes to get healthier (and lose weight).

I’ve already made some big life changes.  Since the start of 2016, I’ve tried to be as gluten-free as possible.  I definitely break every once in a while (this blog isn’t called “PCOS and Pizza” for nothing), but I’ve been pretty good about it. I’ve also started eliminating a lot of dairy from my diet – I now use almond milk and hugely cut back on the amount of cheese I eat. The reason I’ve limited both is that with PCOS, insulin levels are all over the charts due to the hormonal imbalances. With insulin levels being high, things like simple carbohydrates get processed into sugar a lot quicker, therefore adding fat.  I’m really not about that life anymore, so I’ve been buying brown rice pastas, quinoa-based pastas, and limiting my dairy intake to the yogurt I bring to work in the morning.

As far as this blog goes, I’ll be updating my blog twice a week – once on Monday’s to tell about my Meal Prep for the week (this week’s Meal Prep post will be later today – because yesterday was a holiday, I didn’t do any prep. Whoops.), and once on Friday’s to tell you about my workouts that week.  I’ll be taking pictures of my meals all week and posting them at the end of the week as well.

Something else that I’m doing is entering all of my food into MyFitnessPal.  If you have this app, definitely follow me!  I also own a Jawbone UP24 band which I use to track my steps, my sleep, and my workouts.  I’ll post screenshots of my week from both apps every Monday with my meal prep stuff.

Leave a Reply

